Dexter “Remember the Monsters” Review MAJOR MAJOR SPOILERS

SPOILERS FOLLOW

  Don’t you remember the monsters?

 

Dexter had fifty six minutes to make up for a somewhat lackluster final season, did it accomplish that goal?  I’m sure others might have something different to say, but for me personally I think it did.  While I have some complaints regarding the finale I for the most part really enjoyed it.  I cheered, I screamed at the screen, I laughed, and you know what I was on the verge of tears at one point.  So let’s get discussing.

 There is one major problem I had with this episode and that is no Masuka’s daughter…no actually it was Saxon.  I feel like for the last few episodes we were building up to this epic confrontation between Dexter and Saxon only for Dexter to kill him with a pen.  It was really anticlimactic but it was still a nice “final” kill. 

We get some flashbacks which take place between Seasons 3 and 4, and I loved them.  I wish we could have seen Rita though, I was a bit disappointed by that but still.  Deb talking about how Dexter protected her from “the monsters” was a heartfelt scene and Jennifer Carpenter really sold it.  I really can’t wait to see where her career goes from here.

Hannah is actually pretty darn awesome in this episode.  I loved the scene on the bus where she drugs Elway as well as her final scene in Argentina at the café with Harrison where she finds out Dexter’s “dead”.  The silent look of sadness on Yvonne’s face was amazing and her subsequent telling of Harrison that they’ll go get ice cream was so great.  Momma Hannah was great and I’d actually like to see what life’s like for Hannah and Harrison in Buenos Aires. 

The supporting cast(save Hannah, Harrison, and a real little bit of Quinn) is mostly just seen in the background in the finale, just saying some lines like “Deb’s gonna make it, I know she will” or “Dexter needs to know!”.  We get a little of Batista and good god is David Zayas a great actor.  When asking Dexter about his killing of Saxon you can tell how shaken Angel is, and while it’s never stated I think Angel was beginning to think ‘maybe LaGuerta was right’ when he was talking to Dexter.

Dexter’s final fate isn’t exactly the happiest, working in a logging yard or something away from all of his friends and loved ones under a new identity.  However I liked it a hell of a lot better than the Dexter goes to prison or gets killed scenario.  It’s not because those are bad ideas, but because I feel like Dexter’s made it this far for him to die or go to jail just didn’t make sense especially considering how the season had been going so far. 

The scenes between Deb and Dexter were just beautiful, and like I said earlier I was ready to cry a few times.  Dexter’s realization that anyone he comes into contact with suffers for it was tragic but necessary.  Although I was bit saddened by Dexter’s decision to let Debra die, it wasn’t exactly as if Debra would have had much of a life being fed through a tube(then again I think he should’ve waited for a more conclusive diagnosis till he pulled the plug and gave her a Vikings funeral). 

I had long suspected that Saxon was the anti-Isaak, and it turns out I was right.  Isaak taught Dexter that he could love and care for people, and Saxon tore that idea apart.  Saxon was the final lesson, Dexter learned that despite his yearning for a more normal life he could never have it because whatever he created, loved, or wished for would inevitably fall apart.

So where do we go from here?  Well I’m now certain that Showtime’s revving up for a spin-off of sorts(the idea was recently brought up once again by one of the Showtime execs and they pretty much stated a Dexter spin-off was pretty much inevitable and that they were definitely working on something to carry on the legacy of Dexter).  What could that be?  I’m not sure exactly, but I know that I’ll watch.  Despite this seasons uneven nature with some good episodes and some terrible ones, we still have Seasons 1, 2(Oh god Season Two was Dexter at it’s absolute best although Season Seven is up there too), 4, and 7, which were some of the best television I’ve ever watched.  The writers have all proven in the past to be talented and I hope they’ll bring that same style of writing used in Seasons 1-4 and Season 7 in whatever this project may be.  Despite Dexter and Deb’s sad fates the episode was actually as happy as an ending Dexter could’ve gotten.  As much as I will hate knowing Deb is no more, I really liked this finale and all of the characters spin-offs.  There’ll be a some Dexter related posts coming soon, but I’ll also be able to review and write about some other shows.

Leave a Reply

