American Horror Story: Coven Season Three Premiere “Bitchcraft” Review/MAJOR SPOILERS

SPOILERS FOLLOW…

As previously mentioned I’ve yet to watch any prior episodes of AHS: Coven because it just sounded like it was just going for shock value instead of actual story.  What initially grabbed my attention was the New Orleans setting, I’ve been to New Orleans before and my sister actually went to Tulane for a year and I really liked the city, the cast lineup sounded excellent, and the concept sounded amazing, so I decided to give it a try and well…  I LURVED IT!

The lead character Zoe is an excellent entry point into the world of Coven, she has a rather tragic background and is the most relatable of the girls.  While she is the most relatable, Emma Roberts character is certainly the most entertaining of the group.  Robert’s character is a total bitch but a likable one!  She has this total Cordelia Chase vibe about her that I’m really digging. 

Speaking of Buffy, I had quite a few Buffy flashbacks during the episode.  First seeing Tim Minear’s name in the credits as Executive Producer, then with one of the main characters being named Cordelia, the wit, and then the whole “Once in a generation, a girl is born…”.  That’s definitely not a negative thing.  There were quite a few funny moments in the episode that help distract from the occasional violence and gore.

Speaking of violence, about 40 minutes into the episode something happened which worried me a bit.  As mentioned before I was rather worried that the show would rely on shock value having heard many of the horrific events which occurred in the first two seasons, and there’s a scene regarding Emma Roberts character that worried me.  While I wasn’t a fan of the scene I see why it’s necessary for the overall storyline and the scene where Emma Roberts character get’s her revenge was a good “Aw yeah!” moment.

The episode was absolutely stunning though, the script was perfect as was the acting.  The lead character Zoe is excellently portrayed by actress Taissa Farmiga almost effortlessly, and as previously stated Emma Roberts kills it as the bitchy but lovable Madison.  The moment the episode ended I couldn’t believe it, and I wanted to boycott all products which decided to air commercials during this extremely entertaining hour of television.  The only thing that I really don’t like is the fact that we only get 12-13 episodes of the Coven and then on to the next story, the story seems so ripe for more seasons as do the characters.  I’ve heard the creator is in talks with FX to produce a spin-off of Coven and I really hope that’s the case.  I could hardly believe this was written by two of the creators of “Glee”, it was awesome. 

OVERALL:  A+ 95% Awesome

Leave a Reply

