The Neighbors “Fear and Loving in New Jersey” Review/MAJOR SPOILERS

MAJOR SPOILERS FOLLOW…

This is such a fun show.  For those of you that haven’t heard of the Neighbors(I don’t blame you, ABC’s done a shitty job of promoting it, and the show was initially written off by a lot of people due to the pilot not being that great), it’s an ABC comedy which is basically a family comedy version of “Community” with aliens.  That’s the best way I can describe it, the show really breaks the mold of family comedies.  Now don’t get me wrong I do enjoy “Modern Family”, “The Middle”, “Trophy Wife”, and even “The Goldbergs”(“Suburgatory” needs to reprove itself to me with this new season, because season two was pretty awful aside from Dalia just owning every scene she’s in), but “The Neighbors” is really one of a kind when it comes to family sitcoms. 

After enduring a painful thirty minute propaganda ad against the democratic party, or as ABC calls it “Last Man Standing”(seriously if you don’t believe me, please watch tonight’s episode it’s laughable only in the fact is absolutely terrible and is basically just a preachy ad pushing the writers and Tim Allen’s political beliefs.  It’s not even subtle about it, it literally pretty much states all liberals are crazy jerks just trying to fit in.  It was the television equivalent of political Facebook posts.), I was ready for some “Neighbors”, and it didn’t disappoint.  “Fear and Loving in New Jersey” was not only really funny, but also isn’t afraid to end on a downer.  I like when comedies take risks and don’t tie everything up in a nice bow at the end, and actually add some legitimate conflict to the show. 

The  Weaver’s son has decided to become like his idol, American hero Johnny Knoxville, and is making his own version of “Jackass” appropriately titled Kidiots.  This was more of the B-plot of the episode to the Reggie/Amber story, but it was probably the funniest storyline of the episode.  Some of the funniest moments include:  after the son(I’m sorry I don’t remember either of the kids names but they are really funny) gets the daughter to take part in the group’s first demonstration, Debbi states to the daughter “I’m ashamed of you” to which she states “Honestly mom, I’m ashamed of myself”, anything with Larry Byrd is of course comedic gold, Megan Parks characters arrival and her passive aggressive bitchiness was funny, and Reggie’s reasoning for using the scary movie. 

The Reggie/Amber storyline came to a big development this week, with Reggie’s alien soul mate(Megan Park) and Amber’s refusal to say she loves him.  While I’m sure that by the end of the season, it was actually a nice change of pace to see the episode  end on such a shocking and sad development.  The scenes between Amber and Debbi were spectacular(“That means a lot mom.  I’m not being sarcastic, that’s just how I talk”).  Also I just love Jami Gertz and she was great tonight.

Overall, this was a really great episode.  I love the show for the risks it takes, and the humor is excellent.

OVERALL:  B+

Leave a Reply

