Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season Ten #1 “New Rules” Review/MAJOR SPOILERS: “Nostalgia Can Be Dangerous”

MAJOR SPOILERS

Buffy and the equally awesome Scoobies are back for their tenth season(and third season in comic format).  Now under the watch of Christos Gage(“Angel & Faith”, “Avengers Academy”), with art by the excellent Rebekah Isaacs(who also drew for “Angel & Faith”), promising to return Buffy to her roots, so expectations were surely high.  Luckily though, the comic met those expectations.  Bringing us our favorite super funny slayers back in the California suburbs fighting vamps in style.

Gage has the Whedon-esque Buffy speak down to pat.  The humor, the emotion, the somewhat outdated pop-culture references that teens in the 90’s probably don’t even know(I really love this aspect, it’s always fun finding out what the references after the fact because it gives one a new appreciation for the story), everything we love about Buffy is there.  His ability to make you almost hear the voices of the actors as you read(wouldn’t it be cool if the Buffy cast reunited for like audio-comic or something, it would be perfect.  Visually they’ve all aged too much to play twenty somethings, but how cool would it be if they had a graphic novel released with like a audio-book type read through by the cast) is almost magical.  He really has Faith’s voice down, when ever I read her lines and see her Faith-y smile I can just here Eliza Dushku talking in my head(maybe I should get that checked out). 

Having skipped the majority of Season Nine, it was a little awkward transitioning back into the story as much of the story began so en media res.  However the story does an excellent job setting up the rest of the season and the character dynamics.  One of my favorite twists in the comic is the return of everybody’s favorite bunny hater, Anya!  I really felt like her character was the one character I was really itching to see return, Tara’s death was sad but necessary, Anya’s death was super sad but I feel like there was still story left in her.  Her interaction with Xander is classic Anya.  It’s also nice to see this whole Buffy/Spike thing is in a nice place because I was getting a bit sick of this whole scenario….

SPIKE:  Buffy, I love you!

BUFFY:  SPIKE F**K ME, RIGHT HERE RIGHT NOW!

SPIKE:  M’kay.

*one building destroying sex session later*

BUFFY:  Spike….I…I love you.

SPIKE(lip begins to quiver and tears fall from eyes):  No Buffy, no you don’t.  (Buffy awkwardly backs away and dials Willow for a ride home, as Spike sobs in the corner)

If there’s one interaction I’m really excited to see it’s Ghost Anya and Dawn, I really can’t wait to see Anya call Xander out on how strange that ship is.  I’m hoping for some more Willow next issue, though as much as I like Kennedy(please don’t stone me), I really don’t want her to go down that route again.  I’d like to see Willow in a nice healthy relationship.  I’m really hoping this Santa Rosita setting is permanent, reminds me of the good old days back at Sunnydale.  There’s some stellar interaction between Dawn and Andrew here, and of course there’s a not so subtle hint or two of his sexuality.  At this point it would be hilarious if everyone just found out that Andrew had been out for years and just never bothered to say it.  The reunion with Giles at the end was perfect.  Also Vicky the vampire is awesome.

Let me start by singling out Rebekah Isaacs, who is a super star.  She is fantastic at likenesses, she gets the look down without it looking like she just traced a photo of Sarah Michelle Gellar.  She also conveys emotion like a champ, the final scene with Buffy and Giles reuniting and Buffy in tears was just perfect.  She also makes the series feel very comic-y, the action shots in particular are excellently done.  She is great at mixing the feel of the live action show with a comic-y environment. 

SOME GREAT QUOTES

“Seriously “Vicky the Vampire””

“Right.  Because “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” is downright Shakespearean”

“Billy just decided to live the life he wanted to–to hell with convention or rules.  And he was accepted”

“Oh my God Andrew, you could totally do the same thing.  Why would you think for a second you wouldn’t be accepted?”

“You really think I could be a slayer?”

“A…Slayer.  Of course I do.  Because that’s what you meant.  And me too.”

“So I’m not making this up right?  I’m not just being crazy?”

“Well you’re talking to the ghost of your dead ex-fiancée.  So that’s kind of a loaded question, isn’t it?”

God, such good dialogue.  AHHH SO GOOD!  Overall, this was an excellent opener.  I can’t wait to see where Christos, Rebekah, and eventually Nicholas Brendon(hey that’s real life Xander) take the book.  This is a excellent set up.  Great issue. 

GRADE:  A 95%

    + ANYA’S BACK

   + HUMOR IS HUMOROUS

   + ART IS SO GOOD

   + NOSTALGIA

   + EMOTION

   CONS

  – A LITTLE CONFUSING IF YOU HAVEN’T READ SEASON NINE OF BUFFY, AND I GUESS IF YOU DIDN’T READ ANGEL & FAITH THEN IT IS REALLY CONFUSING

 

 

4 thoughts on “Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season Ten #1 “New Rules” Review/MAJOR SPOILERS: “Nostalgia Can Be Dangerous””

Leave a Reply

