Arrow “Seeing Red” Review/MAJOR SPOILERS: Mommy Issues

MAJOR SPOILERS FOLLOW…

“Arrow” as of late has been making me feel like a Lucille Bluth in a Gene Parmesan store.  I mean when did this show get so fucking deliciously good?  I feel like “Arrow” season two is in many ways comparable to “Buffy” season two(not as good though), the writers have worked out the slip ups from the first season, turned a beloved character into a raging monster, and has just been really consistently great.  So if “Arrow” season two is “Buffy” season two, then tonight’s episode is “Passion”.  The moment where shit hits the fan, and the writers finally show what they’re capable of(killing a beloved character, which I guess “Arrow” already did with poor Tommy…we miss you Tommy).  

Susana Thompson gives an excellent final performance(though let’s be real she’ll probably be back as a hallucination or something later on), and I have to say she looked damn good doing it(was it me or did she look super hot in those flashbacks?).  I was really satisfied with the way her and Oliver finally reconciled, and then came that gut punch of an ending.  Any chance that Slade might ever be redeemed seems lost, though I suppose I thought the same of Angel back when I watched Buffy and yet I still ship Bangel(hey a review of “Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season Ten” #2 will be up tomorrow!).  We love you Susana Thompson, you played Moira in so many different ways over the course of the last two seasons and each way you did you killed it(I recently saw the episode of “Law and Order: SVU” she was on and she was great in that too.). 

I also have to give Stephan Amell some props.   I’ll be honest, I’ve always kind of been a bit skeptical of his casting(especially in Season One, where his acting was…well less than good), but damn has he been fucking killing it these last few episodes(yes I say killing it a lot).  That final scene, all of his scenes tonight really, he took what he was given and ran with it.  So good job Stephan Amell you’ve made me a fan.  Poor Laurel though, she got one scene and it was a flashback(I like Katie Cassidy, and I’m a bit of a Laurel sympathizer, though I 100% blame her for the death of Tommy for being a fucking idiot and running into save papers while her office building was on fire and there was an earthquake going on). 

Black Canary has realized that she’s a killer and goes to have a meeting with an old friend(who is most definitely Nyssa, who’s supposed to show up again this season).  I really like Caity Lotz, and I fear for why she isn’t a series regular.  The whole Roy plot fell a little flat, it just wasn’t all that interesting when it just kind of felt like a retread of the Helena story a few episodes, but I totally see why it was necessary because of the Slade parallel.  The show also needs some more Sin, I really like her and her relationship with Thea is more interesting than her relationship with Roy. 

Overall, this was a great episode.  Moira’s death hurt bad, and I can’t wait to see where the story goes from here.  The Roy plot may have felt a bit like a retread but I see why it was necessary.  The next two episodes look epic, long live “Arrow”!

GRADE:  A 94%

 

3 thoughts on “Arrow “Seeing Red” Review/MAJOR SPOILERS: Mommy Issues”

  1. I thought the first 55 minutes were fairly average, but those last 5 minutes were spectacular. Really excellent performances by those involved, and I’m excited for the final three weeks.

    1. Yeah, the Roy stuff was pretty weak, but I really enjoyed all of Moira’s scenes. Also I’m a sucker for a good cliffhanger. Have you watched “Buffy” yet?

Leave a Reply

