24 Live Another Day Season Premiere Review/MAJOR SPOILERS: We’re Running Out of Time

MAJOR SPOILERS FOLLOW…DAMN IT

I never watched “24” when it was on air, I discovered it through Netflix(like 75% of the shows I watch), and quickly just fell in love.  I’ve been anticipating “Live Another Day” for a while now, with Jack Bauer and my beautiful Australian dandelion Yvonne Strahovski, there’s no universe where this show couldn’t at the very least be entertaining.  It was, but the two hour opener never really gets beyond entertainment.  “24 Live Another Day” hasn’t hooked me yet, but I’m sure as the story goes on(and gets wilder and crazier), I’ll be all in. 

Yvonne Strahovski plays a CIA agent named Kate Morgan(no “Dexter” jokes), who is quite literally running out of time.  This is her last week on the job before she resigns as consequence of her husband’s selling of secrets.  Yvonne’s performance is great, as a newfound fan of “Chuck” it’s amusing to see her playing another CIA agent but beyond that and the obvious visual comparisons the characters are very different.  I was flashing back to the first season the way that she and that one guy operated reminded me a lot of the Nina-Tony dynamic, she herself is reminiscent of an early Jack, and the one other guy kind of reminds me of George Mason(they should just bring George, Nina, and Mason back, I don’t care how convoluted the twist has to be.  Also Mandy).  There’s a sense of nostalgia with all the new. 

The twist for why Jack Bauer lets himself get captured was great, and I couldn’t believe it took me so long to figure it out.  Jack and Chloe are at it again, kicking ass and taking names.  The scene where Kate and Jack confront each other was great, there’s a very Carrie Matheson vibe about Kate. 

Seeing Chloe and Jack back together again was great. However I found it weird how she just had all of these hacker friends, when if I’m not mistaken she had been locked up there for quite some time. That couple with the Russian girl in the second hour was so, so “24”. When she killed him and called her mother, I was just like “yep, I’m watching 24.”. The whole presidential storyline was a bit of a weak point for me, it wasn’t bad or anything, but I wasn’t exactly glued to my screen. We need more Jack Bauer damn it!

Overall, these two episodes were pretty solid. Nothing amazing, but they were a lot of fun to watch, and there were some classic Jack moments.

GRADE: B 86%

Leave a Reply

